If your jobsite has little or no network connectivity, the Rhumbix mobile app has you covered! The Rhumbix Mobile App now provides offline support for timekeeping so in areas with weak or no connectivity, you can still create timecards and which will submit automatically when the device is back online.
Triggering Offline Mode
When your device is not connected to the internet, you will see a grey banner towards the top of the page that says offline mode. Once you see the grey banner, you can begin entering your offline timecard. This bar will turn green if your device is reconnected back to the internet.
How to Create Offline Timecards
Offline timecards are filled out just like normal timecards. You can set up your projects, teammates, and cost codes, enter in hours, notes, absences, etc.
When your device is connected to the internet, your time cards would be submitted and sync in real time. With offline timekeeping, your timecards are complete but are not submitted. Instead, the timecard data is saved in your mobile app and placed in a pending state.
This can be found in the Pending Uploads page on the profile tab. Your timecards will be saved here as pending until your device is reconnected back onto the internet. Once reconnected, your timecard will submit as normal and you will be able to proceed onto the next steps in your workflow, such as collecting signatures or approvals.
Once a timecard has been created in offline mode, it will receive the pending status. This can be found towards the top of the page in Timecard Summary.
When the device is connected to the internet, the timecard will automatically submit and will be moved into the submitted status.
In order for Offline Timekeeping to work optimally, we recommend following these best practices.
- If you have a timecard that is pending and has not been submitted, do not delete the Rhumbix mobile app. Doing so would also delete your pending timecard.
- You will not want to sign out of your account on the mobile app as all of your saved and cached data would clear upon the logout. Doing so would also delete the pending timecard you have stored in your app so be sure to stay logged into your account until reconnected back to the internet.
- We do not have a time limit on how soon the device must have network reconnection but we recommend that you connect back on as soon as possible for efficient workflow for the rest of your team.
You can always find more information on Timekeeping on our Support Center.